

Originally known as the R.F.U Club Competition, for which no cup was awarded nor sponsorship sought, it was renamed the John Player Cup in 1976, Gosforth beating Rosslyn Park in the Final. The first competition took place in 1972, and Gloucester were crowned inaugural champions, defeating Moseley in the final, 17 to 6. Coventry won two titles in succession in 1973 and 1974, and after Bedford's championship win in 1975, Gosforth also won two in succession, in 1976 and 1977. Gloucester won their second title in 1978. The competition was then dominated by Leicester, who won three championships in a row, until Gloucester won their third title in 1982. This was shared with Moseley after a 12-12 draw in extra time, and was the only time the cup was shared between two teams. Leicester were again in the final in 1983, but lost to Bristol. Leicester's record run was then broken by Bath from 1984-87, who won the John Player Cup four times in a row, until Harlequins won their first in 1988.

The John Player Cup was named after John Player, a nineteenth century Nottinghamshire businessman. John Player had his own factory that made cigarettes and the company ultimately grew to become a huge concern known as John Player & Sons. We don't have the John Player Cup today because tobacco advertising has been banned on health grounds as it is believed that if tobacco companies sponsor sports it encourages people to smoke. Today, John Player Special and John Player King Size are manufactured by Imperial Tobacco, whereas John Player Gold Leaf is manufactured by British American Tobacco (in some countries), and ranks as one of the best selling and popular tobacco products in Pakistan.

The EDF Energy Cup (also known as the Anglo-Welsh Cup) is an English and Welsh rugby union knock-out cup competition featuring the twelve Guinness Premiership clubs and four Welsh Regions. Prior to the 2005-06 season, the competition was open to all English clubs. Bath have won the cup ten times, with Leicester Tigers the second most successful club with six, including their win over the Ospreys in the 2006-07 final.

Continued







John Player Cup with GRFC

1972: Gloucester 17-6 Moseley

1978: Gloucester RFC 6-3 Leicester

1982: Gloucester RFC 12-12 Moseley (shared cup)

1990: Bath 48-6 Gloucester

2003: Gloucester RFC 40-22 Northampton



Other Cup competitions:

R.F.U Club Competition

- 1972 Gloucester 17 6 against Moseley
- 1973 Coventry 27 15 against Bristol
- 1974 Coventry 26 6 against London Scottish
- 1975 Bedford 28 12 against Rosslyn Park

John Player Cup

- 1976 Gosforth 23 14 against Rosslyn Park
- 1977 Gosforth 27 11 against Waterloo
- 1978 Gloucester RFC 6 3 against Leicester
- 1979 Leicester 15 12 against Moseley
- 1980 Leicester 21 9 against London Irish
- 1981 Leicester 22 15 against Gosforth
- 1982 Gloucester RFC and Moseley (shared) 12 12
- 1983 Bristol 28 22 against Leicester
- 1984 Bath 10 9 against Bristol
- 1985 Bath 24 15 against London Welsh
- 1986 Bath 25 17 against Wasps FC
- 1987 Bath 19 12 against Wasps FC
- 1988 Harlequins 28 22 against Bristol

Continued













Pilkington Cup

- 1989 Bath 10 6 against Leicester
- 1990 Bath 48 6 against Gloucester
- 1991 Harlequins 25 13 against Northampton
- 1992 Bath 15 12 against Harlequins
- 1993 Leicester 23 16 against Harlequins
- 1994 Bath 21 9 against Leicester
- 1995 Bath 36 16 against Wasps FC
- 1996 Bath 16 15 against Leicester
- 1997 Leicester 9 3 against Sale

Tetley's Bitter Cup

- 1998 Saracens 48 18 against Wasps FC
- 1999 Wasps FC 29 19 against Newcastle
- 2000 London Wasps 31 23 against Northampton

Powergen Cup

- 2001 Newcastle 30 27 against Harlequins
- 2002 London Irish 38 7 against Northampton
- 2003 Gloucester RFC 40 22 against Northampton
- 2004 Newcastle 37 33 against Sale
- 2005 Leeds 20 12 against Bath

Powergen Anglo-Welsh Cup

2006 London Wasps 26 - 10 against Llanelli Scarlets

EDF Energy Anglo-Welsh Cup

- 2007 Leicester Tigers 41 35 against Ospreys
- 2008 Ospreys 23 6 against Leicester Tigers
- 2009 Cardiff Blues 50 12 against Gloucester
- 2010 Northampton Saints 30-24 against Gloucester
- 2011 Gloucester 34-7 against Newcastle Falcons

Continued













QUESTIONS:

- 1. Why was it called the John Player Cup?
- 2. Why did Gloucester have the trophy?
- 3. Who did they beat to get the trophy?
- 4. Can you tell us any more information?









